‘The Travel Bug’

Chances are, you have all heard about this little guy at least once before. For me, he has really always been around if I was fully aware of it or not.

Ever since I can remember, I have been lucky enough to go abroad at least once a year. Whether that be for a chilled family get away, and there’s been a few (one year there was 30+ of us..I know) or a wild week on the coast of the Mediterranean in Ibiza. However, up until 2013, everywhere I had been were your standard holiday locations such as the Canary Islands and Spain. Although these places were beautiful and I always had a fantastic time, they were not quite the ‘Big Apple’. The longest flight I had ever been on was probably 5 hours. 

It wasn’t until I was in Sixth Form/college that I was given the chance to go further afield. As part of my Geography course we were given the chance to visit Iceland. This once in a lifetime experience had just landed in my lap. Admittedly, I had never even considered going there before this. I knew nothing about the country or what to expect. My first thought was ice. Lots and lots of ice and not much else.

Although it was as baron as I had imagined, there was just something about it. You can immediately see why it was chosen as a location to film GOT (Game of Thrones) and why locals believe in elves. Rocky, volcanic terrain covered in vast amounts of green and in areas masses of ice and cascading waterfalls. Iceland – The Home of Fire and Ice.

We were able to visit three of these massive walls of water; Skógafoss, Seljalandsfoss and Gullfoss also known as the Golden Falls. Each equal in beauty but with unique differences in characteristics.

  • Seljalandsfoss was the smallest of the three however the way the water fell created a cave behind it allowing you to stand directly behind the waterfall
  • Skógafoss was the second and no matter how far away from it you stood, the spray was bound to soak through however many layers you had on. Here you were able to climb to the very top (not without testing every muscle in your legs) but the climb was more than worth it when you see the view.
  • Finally, the last was Gullfoss, more commonly known as ‘The Golden Falls’ and possibly the one people are more familiar with. This was by far the largest.

We also got to visit Sólheimajökull Glacier where we took part in a glacier walk (like the climb to the top of a waterfall wasn’t enough exercise) but again, it was definitely worth it.

We were also lucky enough to visit other places such as Sólheimajökull National Park and the world renowned Blue Lagoon. At this point I had well and truly been bitten by ‘The Travel Bug‘.

Leave a Reply

