Mexico.

Mexico…During March. Can only mean one thing right? SPRING BREAK

Well for any other 21 year old, this may have been the case. I however, decided to trade in the American tradition to explore and experience the history, culture and the overall beauty of the country.

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

We stayed in Playa del Carmen at one of the Riu chain hotels, Riu Tequila, which has a more traditional Mexican feel and appearance about it compared to the others in the area. I couldn’t fault it. My dad however, living up the the English stereotype for loving tea, only had one issue…why wasn’t there a kettle in his room? Which was easily resolved thanks to our holiday reps lending him one of theirs. The place was like something you only see on tv and in magazines. Swim-up bars, poolside massages, poolside waiter service. Definitely something I could have got used to.

The beach was just a short walk away (or if you fall under the lazy category, like myself, a small golf buggy away) straight out the complex and down a small pathway.The sun shone threw the trees that overhung and once once you got to the end it opens up on to the main beach.
DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with c6 presetDCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with c6 preset

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetWhite sands, blue skies, clear waters and palm trees. What else could you ask for? Apart from a ridiculously strong alcoholic drink. Unfortunately, I am one of these people that loves the heat and the sun, but I am unable to just sit in it for hours on end without getting
bored.

 

So, I tend to do DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetwhat a lot of others do and take a walk along the beach. Now, I have NEVER been sun burnt, so for some reason I thought it would be clever not to put any sun cream on while I walked along the Caribbean coast…wrong move. I got burnt to a crisp.
Processed with VSCOcam with c6 preset

Despite the stinging sensation across my entire body, I was not about to let a little sunburn affect my experience out here. I took part in three expeditions/days out while i was there to make the most of my time; Tulum & Jungle Maya Adventure, Coba Mayan Traditions and Xel-Ha. Each equally as fascinating and time worthy.

Follow links for:
Tulum & Jungle Maya

 [Coba Mayan Traditions and Xel-Ha posts to follow]

 

2 thoughts on “Mexico.

    1. It was stunning! Yes I did! I visited the ruins in Tulum and then on a separate trip i went to see the ruins in Coba and climbed the Mayan pyramid. Found the whole experience amazing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

